Renters Insurance Requirements in the State of California | Blog | Wine Valley Insurance Services (2024)

While renters insurance isn’t required by law in the state of California, it can give you an extra layer of protection. Renting a property can be expensive, and disaster can strike at any moment. California has many laws that can protect renters. And while landlords and building owners are required to have insurance on any property that they rent, they may require a tenant to purchase renters insurance before they issue a lease.

Why You Should Get Renters Insurance

There have been numerousreports in the news about people who have lost everything because of a fire or some other natural disaster, and they’re unable to pick up the pieces because they didn’t have renters insurance. While a landlord must have an insurance policy to cover any losses to the property itself, it won’t cover your personal belongings. Renters insurance will fill this gap, and it will include any losses that have occurred because of certain perils. It can also cover any medical payments for the treatment of injuries that have been inflicted on you or other people.

If you live in Napa, CA, Wine Valley Insurance Services has agents who can help you find a policy that can meet your needs and fits your budget. You shouldn’t take the risk of losing everything because of an unexpected event. You can prevent this by obtaininga renters insurance policy. If you want to find out how we can help you get the coverage you need, reach out to our offices.

What Can Be Covered in a California Renters Insurance Policy

California renters insurance policies can provide the following coverage:

  • Personal Property – Covers your personal belongings because of a disaster or unexpected event, and it will have a minimum amount that’s set by your insurance company.
  • Loss of Use – Pays for any additional living expenses if you’re unable to use the property because of a loss, which can include the cost of a hotel or any meals.
  • Personal Liability – Covers you for any damages for which you’re held liable, and most landlords will require you to get at least $100,000 of this type of coverage.
  • Medical Payments to Others – Covers medical payments for any injuries that have occurred on the property, and it will usually have a minimum of $1,000.

Be sure to speak to someone at Wine Valley Insurance Services to get a renters insurance policy that you can rely on. We have been serving the people of Napa, CA for a long time, and we can help you get a renters insurance policy that can cover you if you have suffered an unexpected loss. If you want to work with a reliable insurance agency that is trusted in California, Nevada, Oregon, Colorado, Arizona, Washington, and Idaho, then feel free to contact our office. We would be happy to serve you!

Renters Insurance Requirements in the State of California | Blog | Wine Valley Insurance Services (2024)


What is the minimum renters insurance required in California? ›

Personal Liability – Covers you for any damages for which you're held liable, and most landlords will require you to get at least $100,000 of this type of coverage. Medical Payments to Others – Covers medical payments for any injuries that have occurred on the property, and it will usually have a minimum of $1,000.

What are the three major parts of a renters insurance policy? ›

Renters insurance has three basic coverage components: personal possessions, liability, and additional living expenses.

What is the average cost of renters insurance in California? ›

The Cost of Renters Insurance in California

According to data collected by Quadrant Information Services in 2023, renters insurance costs $187 per year or $15.58 per month on average in the state of California.

Why do landlords want you to have renters insurance? ›

Unlike some other states, California landlords are allowed to require tenants to obtain and maintain renters insurance while they are under the terms of the lease. This is done in part to protect landlords from lawsuits in the event that damage to the property causes it to become uninhabitable.

What is California's insurance requirements? ›

Here are the minimum liability insurance requirements (per California Insurance Code §11580.1b): $15,000 for injury/death to one person. $30,000 for injury/death to more than one person. $5,000 for damage to property.

Why do landlords require renters insurance in California? ›

Without a renters policy in place, damage or injury from a gathering gone wrong could be your responsibility. Renters insurance can help protect a landlord against tenant negligence. Tenant negligence can take many forms, ranging from a kitchen fire while cooking to water damage from an overflowing tub.

Which of the following is not covered in most renter's insurance policies? ›

Flooding, earthquakes and sinkholes are all examples of natural disasters that are not covered by a typical renters insurance policy. All three of these events can easily damage your personal property, so you should buy additional coverage if you think you're at risk.

What does renters insurance not include? ›

What does renters insurance not cover? Renters insurance does not cover major weather events like earthquakes, landslides, sinkholes and floods. The policy also will not cover pest infestations (including bed bugs) or your roommate's possessions if they aren't a named insured on the policy.

Which is not a typical thing a renters insurance policy covers? ›

Renters insurance typically won't cover normal wear and tear, or damage or losses that occurred before you bought the policy.

What is the best renters insurance in California? ›

The best renters insurance companies in California are American Family, Mercury, Nationwide, Lemonade and USAA, according to our research. The average cost of renters insurance in California is $171 per year, according to the Insurance Information Institute (Triple-I).

What company has the cheapest renters insurance? ›

Which company offers the cheapest renters insurance? According to our research, State Farm and Toggle tend to offer the cheapest renters insurance policies at $10.50 and $12.59 per month, which is about 20% less the national average.

Is renters insurance required by law in California? ›

While renters insurance is not required by law in California, some landlords may require it for you to live in their building. It's generally a good idea to have at least some form of coverage as your landlord's insurance is not liable for any damage to your personal property.

What is the Sutton rule in California? ›

The rule of subrogation known as the “Sutton Rule” states that a tenant and landlord are automatically considered “co-insureds” under a fire insurance policy as a matter of law and, therefore, the insurer of the landlord who pays for the fire damage caused by the negligence of a tenant may not sue the tenant in ...

Should a landlord be named on renters insurance? ›

Your landlord shouldn't be listed on your renters insurance policy as an additional insured. Having an additional insured on your renters insurance means that you would be paying to cover them and their personal property too.

What factors do you think determine the premium paid for a renters insurance policy? ›

Some location-based factors that impact renters insurance rates can include: The rate of crimes, especially theft, in your ZIP code. The weather and climate in your area, since locations prone to fires, storms and hurricanes are riskier. The age and condition of the property you live in.

How much renters insurance do most apartments require? ›

According to the Investopedia article mentioned above, most renters insurance policies cover personal items, living expenses, and liability insurance (typically from $100,000 to $300,000 in damages).

Can I be evicted for not having renters insurance California? ›

In most cases, not having renters insurance doesn't always lead to eviction. However, if it's a requirement stated in the lease agreement, not having coverage could give your landlord grounds to initiate eviction proceedings.

Are landlords required to have insurance in California? ›

Is Landlord Insurance Required in California? Landlord insurance is not legally required in California, but that doesn't mean you should go without it. While the state doesn't mandate landlord insurance, it's highly advisable to protect your interests and investments.

Is Progressive renters insurance good? ›

Progressive earned the No. 8 spot in our rating of the best renters insurance companies. The company offers optional water backup and personal injury coverage, as well as a discount for living in a gated community – options not provided by all insurers in our rating.

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Carmelo Roob

Last Updated:

Views: 6115

Rating: 4.4 / 5 (45 voted)

Reviews: 92% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Carmelo Roob

Birthday: 1995-01-09

Address: Apt. 915 481 Sipes Cliff, New Gonzalobury, CO 80176

Phone: +6773780339780

Job: Sales Executive

Hobby: Gaming, Jogging, Rugby, Video gaming, Handball, Ice skating, Web surfing

Introduction: My name is Carmelo Roob, I am a modern, handsome, delightful, comfortable, attractive, vast, good person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.